Tarot Thursday Three

I’m still catching up on my blog posts for #tarotthursdaythree. This is the post for January 12th, 2017. Questions by Beth (@greenwitch_oracle).

1. What do you do with a deck you don’t connect with?

The short answer is I trade them. But after reading Julia’s post, where she mentions not trading decks but just keeping them around, I’m starting to think that might not be such a bad idea. I, like many other tarot readers, have a slight problem with wanting all the decks. My wish list is long, and changes often. Every now and then I’ll go and weed out the decks I don’t feel too interested in anymore and and replace them with new decks I am interested in. I have many decks with which I have not given myself a real chance to connect. I would like to work with a deck for a month at least before deciding that I don’t connect with it.

2. How long do you give yourself to connect with a new deck?

Oops I kind of went into this answer above. I don’t have a set time to connect with decks, but I would like to give myself at least a month. Sometimes I buy decks with certain Instagram challenges in mind and that helps a lot to connect with a deck, or to know if we don’t connect.

3. What consecration ritual(s) do you use with new divination tools?

I don’t have any rituals, although I should. I started writing a little welcome letter/note to my decks and storing it in the box or bag with the cards, but I did not keep up with that. Some rituals I’ve heard about are looking through all the cards, picking out the ones you like best Β and the ones you like least, and giving each individual card your own meaning. I’m looking forward to reading other’s rituals to get ideas from :).

7 thoughts on “Tarot Thursday Three

  1. Gah! Yes!! The ever-growing wish list…… I feel ya hahaha. Using a deck for a month long challenge always helps me to connect with the deck. Sticking with the challenge is another question….

  2. I love that idea of writing notes and keeping them in the bags with the cards. What a unique idea. I’m bad with keeping up with stuff too but I’m over beating myself up about it…Just because something worked for a bit, doesn’t mean we gotta do it forever! That’s my new mentality lol

  3. It certainly is pretty tricky with wanting new decks!!! It’s hard because even if I think I won’t really jive with one, it can end up becoming a special part of my collection. And on the contrary, sometimes I think I’ll enjoy a deck and when I get it I just don’t ever feel interested enough to read with it very often!

    • Hi Olivia! That is so true, sometimes I’ll see a deck on Instagram and feel like I would really jive with it, but we won’t know for sure until we take it for a test run. Instagram definitely does not help with having self control and not buying all the decks! Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

